• Security
  • Security Settings

Security Settings

This page covers security settings available for your Rockset account.

#Single Sign-On

Google for Work (G Suite) single-sign on is enabled for all accounts. Additional SSO connections, such as Okta or OneLogin, are also available to enterprise customers. To create your Okta connection, follow these instructions. Within the Rockset console, you will have two additional settings available:

  • SSO-only: This setting allows users to connect to Rockset only from your SSO provider. Other forms of authentication, such as username-password, are disabled. If off, all connections will be allowed. We recommend turning this setting on for maximum security.
  • Autoprovision: This setting tells Rockset to automatically create accounts for new users coming to Rockset from your SSO provider. Most SSO providers provide their own form of access control, so we recommend turning this setting on. If off, you will have to add users in the Rockset UI before they are able to access Rockset.

Note that this feature only applies to authentication for logging into the Rockset Console, and does not apply to calls made to the Rockset API or Query Lambdas using API Keys.

To enable single-sign on or OAuth support for accessing the Rockset Console, please contact support@rockset.com.

#Multi-Factor Authentication

If you have Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) enabled through a third-party SSO connection (such as G Suite or Okta), you will be able to enforce MFA for accessing the Rockset Console by configuring that SSO connection with Rockset following the instructions above. Once you have done this, follow the relevant instructions for your provider:

If you do not use a third-party SSO connection, you can still require users of your organization to login with MFA. We currently only support one-time passwords generated by authenticator apps as the second factor.

  1. First visit the Security tab of the Settings Page on the Rockset Console. MFA is the fourth option down.

Security Tab

  1. After you have turned this setting on, users who attempt to access your org in the future will be presented with this prompt:

MFA Prompt

  1. Upon accepting this prompt, the user will be logged out and they will be required to login with MFA on all successive attempts. Users who do not accept the prompt will not be required to enroll in MFA, but they will also not be allowed access to any orgs that require MFA until they have accepted.

  2. After the user enters their username and password, MFA enrollment will take place.

MFA Enrollment

#IP Allowlisting

You may enable IP Allowlisting for your organization to restrict access to only a specified list of IP addresses.

If IP Allowlisting is enabled, only calls made to the Rockset service originating from an IP address specified in the IP Allowlist of your organization will be accepted. All requests originating from unrecognized IP address will be rejected with a HTTP 403 Forbidden error code. This includes access to the Rockset Console, all API operations, and SQL query endpoints.

Administrators of organizations with IP Allowlisting enabled can configure network policies in the form of an IP access list. IP addresses may be specified as individual IPs at the account level, or as a range of IPs in CIDR notation.

By default, all organizations are set to the No IP Allowlist setting, meaning that accesses originating from any IP address are allowed. You can enable IP Allowlisting and configure your network policies in the Settings tab of the Rockset Console. This is only available to users with the Administrator role.

#Delete your Organization

You may delete your Rockset organization and all associated data at any time by sending an email to support@rockset.com. Please include the name of your organization and make sure to delete all collections before making this request. Any organization administrator may make this request. Once these conditions are met, your organization will be deleted within 24 working hours.

Additionally, Rockset will automatically delete your account all associated data after 90 days of inactivity, as defined in this document.